Pink – The Truth About Love

Pink - The Truth About Love

Album cover for The Truth About Love by Pink

Becoming a new mother can provide new perspective for a singer that often becomes reflected in their music, which usually becomes lighter-sounding and introspective. On Pink‘s first record as a new mom, she takes the opposite approach on The Truth About Love. This sixth record shows that she’s still in party mode, almost reckless but still responsible and in control. With song titles like Blow Me (One Last Kiss), Slut Like You, Walk Of Shame and Here Comes The Weekend, Pink is still out to have a good time.

The 1-2 punch of the album’s first two singles help to usher in yet another era from the Pink discography. Blow Me and Try follow the same successful formula that she’s been working with since 2007’s I’m Not Dead. Blow Me is akin to saucy in-your-face songs like U + Ur Hand, So What and Raise Your Glass. It’s followed by Try, the sentimental, emotional power ballad that works in the same vain as Who Knew, Sober and Fuckin’ Perfect with its inspirational chorus “Where there is desire there is gonna be a flame/Where there is a flame someone’s bound to get burned/But just because it burns doesn’t mean you’re gonna die/You gotta get up and try try try.”

While this album is more upbeat as a whole than either Funhouse or I’m Not Dead, there are several tracks that show Pink’s lighter side is still essential to her albums. Beam Me Up is this album’s Dear Mr. President/Crystal Ball by showing the more authentic side of her vocals, which are often concealed by the music and production in her pop hits. The Great Escape, meanwhile, closes the album similarly to how Glitter In The Air ended Funhouse, serving as a piano/strings ballad about a close friend who’s suicidal as she relates to their situation in an effort to help.

The upbeat songs expectedly show off Pink’s fun side with an array of singable pop songs ranging from the two-lined chorus True Love, featuring Lily Cooper Rose (formerly Lily Allen) to rocker How Come You’re Not Here to The Truth About Love, a song where the melody is carried mostly by the backing vocals as Pink floats her way through the song. With each of these songs however, the beat behind them lack variation and cheapen their sound. It’s part of the reason why even with their distinct melodies, Pink songs almost sound interchangeable.
The same problem interferes with an otherwise good mid-tempo featuring fun. lead singer Nate Ruess. Just Give Me A Reason is the first release following their newfound popularity with their Some Nights record that is already looking to expand into more collaborations for Nate in the coming months (re: the new Ke$ha single coming out this week). Pink raced everyone to the forefront to deliver a solid duet with two strong vocalists, even if her voice sounds a bit thin on this.

Two songs from the record that are able to break away from those uninspired beats include the Eminem collaboration Here Comes The Weekend featuring a chorus that is more Encore-era Eminem than Pink, despite Em’s only appearance coming toward the end of the song. The track doesn’t quite meet expectations that come from these two working together, who previously delivered a better song together with Won’t Back Down from Eminem’s last album Recovery.
The album’s highlight is the sing-along anthem Slut Like You, waiting to be unleashed at parties and sung out of key by huge groups of drunk people. It’s the delivery of this song that easily makes it one of the best Pink has ever done.

Despite the restrictions placed on Pink’s music when it comes to production, she clearly owns her songs and has a big enough grasp on her particular niche in pop music that these restrictions are a moot point for the bigger picture. The Truth About Love doesn’t get bogged down with songs that stick out but still follows the same strategic planning that made her last several records pretty solid. There’s a game plan involved when it comes to a Pink record and this time brings the best result yet. Four stars

1. Are We All We Are
2. Blow Me (One Last Kiss)
3. Try
4. Just Give Me A Reason [featuring Nate Ruess]
5. True Love [featuring Lily Rose Cooper]
6. How Come You’re Not Here
7. Slut Like You
8. The Truth About Love
9. Beam Me Up
10. Walk Of Shame
11. Here Comes The Weekend [featuring Eminem]
12. Where Did The Beat Go?
13. The Great Escape


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.