Cher – Closer To The Truth

Cher - Closer To The Truth

Closer To The Truth album cover by Cher

More than ten years since Cher‘s last record, Closer To The Truth is the icon’s 26th album and early signs seemed to indicate that it would arrive with a bang.

The truth is, a bang would have been appropriate if Cher’s time away from recording turned in something new for the singer whose comeback in 1999 was one of the year’s top events in entertainment.

Closer To The Truth follows the familiar path taken by Cher on her recent releases.

Not much has changed. Dance and pop support Cher’s signature mournful vocals accompanied by the music’s airy texture. The record sounds like euro-pop before euro-pop evolved into the EDM it is today. Listening to it is a return to the 90s dance/pop sound when this style of music was the underdog to post-grunge rock and teen-pop.

The record has big choruses as Cher plows through her latest collection of songs that range from the fierce and bold I Walk Alone, to her militant delivery on Woman’s World.

The power ballad I Hope You Find It, originally recorded by Miley Cyrus a few years ago, is straight out of the 80s hair-metal power-ballad-crossover era, while Take It Like A Man is classic dance Cher, calling the 90s home.

Despite consisting of mainly forgettable tracks, Cher still has it. Not every record is going to contain anything as epic as Believe was, but Closer To The Truth is Cher delivering exactly what anyone would expect and want from her. High tempo, great atmosphere and sassy flamboyant pop.

Cher’s snatched enough wigs in her lifetime and with this album, she’s doing us a favour. That’s not a bad thing.
Three stars

1. Woman’s World
2. Take It Like A Man
3. My Love
4. Dressed To Kill
5. Red
6. Lovers Forever
7. I Walk Alone
8. Sirens
9. Favorite Scars
10. I Hope You Find It
11. Lie To Me

One comment

  • I love the cover art. It literally looks just like they photoshopped her head on some young girls body. Can’t wait to hear the songs!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.