Green Day – Revolution Radio

Green Day - Revolution RadioGreen Day‘s trilogy of albums from a few years back wasn’t as well received as it was ambitious and while nearly 40 songs in under a year might be slightly overwhelming, there was more than enough to trim from those three okay albums to put together one excellent record. Revolution Radio is the band’s first release since and comes with a more manageable 12 tracks that brings them back toward the themes of politics, social justice – and self-awareness. On Somewhere New comes the realization that with age comes taming as singer Billie Joe Armstrong contemplates “how did life on the wild side get so dull?” before jumping into a 21st Century Breakdown-esque chorus. They jump into the topic of gun culture and violence on Bang Bang, rebellion and freedom of information on Revolution Radio, and racism and violence on Say Goodbye. Revolution Radio is a Green Day album through and through, complete with chants, political themes, guitar hooks, and bouncy melodies mixed with intense breakdowns. There’s nothing new present, right down to offering something for fans of their lighter fare with Outlaws and Still Breathing – an uplifting song in an age of pending turmoil: “I’m still breathing on my own/my head’s above the rain and roses/making my way away,” and it ends with Billie Joe strumming on Ordinary World, a song recorded for the film of the same name in which Bille Joe is starring in. Yes, well over twenty years into their career, they still sound like Green Day. That’s pretty impressive.
Three stars

1. Somewhere Now
2. Bang Bang
3. Revolution Radio
4. Say Goodbye
5. Outlaws
6. Bouncing Off The Wall
7. Still Breathing
8. Youngblood
9. Too Dumb To Die
10. Troubled Times
11. Forever Now
12. Ordinary World

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.